Have you ever felt the excitement of true love?

True love…a common phrase heard everywhere..but what is the Biblical, true meaning behind True Love?

Love is important.  1 Corinthians 13:13 says, “And now these three remain:  faith, hope, and love.  But the greatest of these is love.” 

One who is without love gains nothing, “If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.  If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.” -1 Corinthians 13:1-3

What is love?

Biblically, genuine love is a choice to act a certain way, regardless of how you feel.  For example, love is patient when you’re frustrated, kind when others are unkind. It does not get mad easily or hold grudges.  Love is always trustworthy, protective, hopeful, and strong.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 says, “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” 

The ultimate love sacrifice is portrayed through Jesus’s crucifixion.  As sinners, we needed a Savior who could pay for our sins.  Jesus was that perfect sacrifice who gave up His life for everyone’s sins.  Jesus chose this death, so that it could exemplify a true, genuine love relationship.

As followers of Christ, it is important that we also express Jesus’s love.  We need to show love to others even when we do not “feel” like it.  For example, instead of being someone who is quick to become angry, we need to forgive just as Christ forgave us.

True love is always seeking the good of the other person.  True, genuine love is to love as Christ loves.

My prayer is that we will begin to let our lives be the proof of Jesus’s love.

-Morgan Marullo

 

